PC SOFT

ONLINE HELP
FOR WINDEV, WEBDEV AND WINDEV MOBILE

Home | Sign in | English US
  • Overview
  • Configuring the history of versions
  • Managing the history of versions
WINDEV
WindowsLinuxUniversal Windows 10 AppJavaReports and QueriesUser code (UMC)
WEBDEV
WindowsLinuxPHPWEBDEV - Browser code
WINDEV Mobile
AndroidAndroid Widget iPhone/iPadApple WatchUniversal Windows 10 AppWindows Mobile
Others
Stored procedures
Overview
The history of setup versions is an advanced feature of the network setup.
This feature is used to keep on the reference server one or more earlier versions of the application. This allows the user to go back to an earlier version if a problem occurs.
The history of versions is also used to install on the server the next upgraded version of an application without sending it to all the customers. This is used to distribute a version to the "beta testers" before it is made available to everyone.
Note: The history of versions only applies to the setups in local network. The history of versions is not available for the network setups by IP.
Configuring the history of versions
The history of version is configured when installing the reference version of the application.
The following plane is displayed during the setup:
Setup wizard - History of versions
To enable the history of versions, all you have to do is check the corresponding box.
Two parameters can be configured:
  • The number of versions that will be stored (in addition to the current version). If this parameter is equal to 0, the number of versions stored is unlimited.
  • The global size of the history of versions (in MB). If this parameter is equal to 0, the disk space used to store the history of versions will be unlimited. The approximate size of a version is specified for information.
If the two limit parameters are specified, the lowest of the two limits is used.
Managing the history of versions
The history of versions is managed via the Control Center of Network Applications (WDAdminExe.exe). The Control Center of Network Applications is installed in the INSTALL sub-directory of the reference setup of the application.
The tab for managing the versions is as follows:
Managing the history of versions
1: Version currently viewed by the client computers.
2: List of versions found in the reference setup. The help for the history of the selected version is proposed (if it is available) in the right section of the window.
3: The following operations can be performed for each version:
  • Forbid a version: The selected version will be forbidden. The users can no longer go back to this version. The client computer deployed in this version will be forced to update when the application is started for the next time.
  • Allow a version: The selected version will be allowed. A user can choose to change the current version installed on his computer via the "?" menu (for more details, see The? menu). This option allows a user to go back to the earlier version if a problem occurs (if this earlier version operated properly).
  • Force the version: The selected version will be forced on all the client computers when the application is started for the next time, even if a more recent version is installed on these computers. This option is used to make the version installed on the client computers "move forward" or to make the beta testers "go back" to an "official" version.
  • Free the version: This option is used to cancel the effects of "Force the version".
4: Used to enable a version. When updating the reference version, you have the ability to request the activation of the version from the setup wizard.
5: Used to delete a former version.
Minimum required version
  • Version 15
Comments
Click [Add] to post a comment