Synchronizing a query is used to update the project elements (reports, controls, ...) based on the query according to the modifications made to the query.
Only the following modifications are stored and automatically synchronized when the query is closed:
- renaming the query.
- creating one or more result items.
- renaming one or more result items.
- deleting one or more result items.
Reminder: The result items correspond to the items whose value is displayed in the query result.
Whenever the query is saved, a group of information is created if modifications have been made to the query. A group of information contains the modifications made since the last query backup.
When the query is closed, the modifications made to the query are automatically applied to the project elements (reports, tables, and so on) that use the query: the query is synchronized.
To see the history of the modifications performed on the current query, display the "Synchronize" tab in the configuration options of the query editor ("Display .. Query configuration").
The list of these modifications is stored in the ".WDR" file of the current query.